• Another Little Piece
  • Dangerous Girls
  • Dead Girls Dont Lie
  • Student Bodies
  • Dirty Little Secret
  • Sunbolt
  • Starglass
  • The Girl in the Wall
  • Insomnia
  • Peregrine Harker and the Black Death
  • If You Find Me
  • Since You Asked...
  • Blurred
  • The Summer I Became a Nerd
  • Cold Fury
  • Dare You To

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Review: Out of Play by Jolene Perry & Nyrae Dawn

Out of Play
by Nyrae Dawn & Jolene Perry
Release Date: August 6, 2013
Series: Standalone
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 320
Source: For Review
Buy the Book: IndieBound | Amazon | B&N
Rock star drummer Bishop Riley doesn't have a drug problem. Celebrities—especially ones suffering from anxiety—just need a little help taking the edge off sometimes. After downing a few too many pills, Bishop wakes up in the hospital facing an intervention. If he wants to stay in the band, he’ll have to detox while under house arrest in Seldon, Alaska. 

Hockey player Penny Jones can't imagine a life outside of Seldon. Though she has tons of scholarship offers to all the best schools, the last thing she wants is to leave. Who'll take care of her absentminded gramps? Not her mother, who can’t even be bothered to come home from work, let alone deal with their new tenants next door.

Penny’s not interested in dealing with Bishop’s crappy attitude, and Bishop’s too busy sneaking pills to care. Until he starts hanging out with Gramps and begins to see what he’s been missing. If Bishop wants a chance with the fiery girl next door, he’ll have to admit he has a problem and kick it. Too bad addiction is hard to kick…and Bishop’s about to run out of time.

Rating: 2 / 5 Riceballs

Book Review:
There's a certain part of New Adult that's fascinating. It deals with that weird transition from a kid to a grown up, all the while still containing youthful excitement. That being said, Out of Play really should have been a book I loved - it deals with drugs, family issues, death AND has a seemingly strong athlete for its main female lead.

But as many NA novels are, Out of Play is really just another romance. The drugs and family issues are really second to Penny and Bishop's relationship.They’re still, well, there. However, I didn’t feel as if Dawn and Perry were able to fully bring out the potential and emotion in such issues. That being said, if you enjoy romance, it is quite well-written. There’s a definite chemistry between the two characters. Unfortunately, it’s still rather predictable and sometimes annoying – how many times have you seen a set up where a girl starts of “hating” a guy and falls in love with him?

What's even more annoying is Penny. The blurb makes it seem like she's this strong, clearminded athlete who is willing to defy gender stereotypes. And while I appreciated her playing hockey, outside of the rink, she's just annoying. At the beginning of the novel, she's in love with her best guy friend, who happens to have a girlfriend. So does Penny leave them alone and respect the fact that they're in love with each other? Of course not. She has to believe that they're not in love, and be disrespectful to Rebecca at every turn.

Out of Play is ultimately your typical NA romance. Especially for someone who's read far too many of them, it doesn't particularly stand out. Added with its wasted potential and weak characters, this isn't a book I'd particularly recommend.

Recommended for: Fans of Nyrae Dawn & Jolene Perry, or those who haven't gotten tired of NA yet.

Sunday, December 1, 2013

Hiatus Notice

Hi everyone,

Since school as started, I've found that it's been harder to keep up with blogging. From now until I have time to blog more, I'll be on a hiatus.

Thanks for understanding!

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Tour Stop: Twinmaker by Sean Williams! [Review & Giveaway]



Hello, and welcome to my stop on the Twinmaker blog tour hosted by
Book Nerd Tours. Click here to see the full blog tour schedule!

About the Author:


#1 New York Times bestselling Sean Williams lives with his family in Adelaide, South Australia. He’s written some books–thirty-nine at last count–including the Philip K. Dick-nominated Saturn Returns, several Star Wars novels and the Troubletwister series with Garth Nix. Twinmaker is the first in a new YA SF series that takes his love affair with the matter transmitter to a whole new level. You can find some related short stories over at Lightspeed Magazine. Thanks for reading.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

_______________________________________________________________________________________________


Review:
Twinmaker
by Sean Williams
Release Date: November 5, 2013
Series: Twinmaker, #1
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 352
Source: SDCC 2013
Buy the Book: IndieBound | Amazon | B&N
High-stakes action combines with issues of friendship and body image in this timely and thought-provoking exploration of the intersection of technology and identity.

You can be Improved….

In a near-future world in which technology can transport you anywhere instantly, can a coded note enable you to change your body—to become taller, stronger, more beautiful? Clair is pretty sure the offer is too good to be true. But her best friend, Libby, is determined to give it a try, longing for a new, improved version of herself.

What starts as Libby’s dream turns into Clair’s nightmare when Libby falls foul of a deadly trap. With the help of Jesse, the school freak, and a mysterious—but powerful—stranger called Q, Clair’s attempt to protect Libby leads her to an unimagined world of conspiracies and cover-ups. Soon her own life is at risk, and Clair is chased across the world in a desperate race against time.

Action and danger fuel Sean Williams’ tale of technology, identity, and the lengths to which one girl will go to save her best friend.

Rating: 3 / 5 Riceballs

Book Review:
There's definitely a lot of potential in the Twinmaker series. Unlike a lot of dystopians, the world and concept of Improvements is genuinely interesting. However, though I ultimately enjoyed the novel, I still felt a bit let down by a couple of aspects in the book.

The concept behind the world was thoroughly unique. I feel like Williams throws a lot at you at first, but it's all fascinating to take in. I loved getting to know about the different technologies in the world, as well as the "Air" and the network based on it. However, apart from slight mentions, actual world building was a bit lacking. Though the concepts themselves were interesting to explore, there's not a lot of explanation or details about it. The history of the world also remains unexplored, so I'm hoping future installments will solve this.

I also had mixed feelings about Clair. At some points, she was a great heroine, as you really see her genuinely care about her companions. And as you progress through the novel, she's really able to show her bravery and strength through the circumstances. At other points of the story, however, I felt annoyed at her. There's times that I found her decisions incredibly stupid, or her reactions overdramatic. Especially at the beginning of the book, I wasn't sure whether to love her for her bravery and compassion, or whether to shout at her for her questions and reactions.

The plot, however, is probably the strongest point in the novel. As I mentioned before, the beginning is a bit info-dumpy. Personally, because I got the chance to learn about the world, I didn't mind this as much, though it might bother other readers. However, once the pace does pick up, I found myself thoroughly immersed in the plot. As almost any sci-fi or dystopia, there's all sorts of action and a few twists here and there. It also contained just the right amount of romance by not overshadowing the main storyline but also having just enough to satisfy!

Though I was mixed about the world-building and Clair's decisions, ultimately I enjoyed Twinmaker because of its plot. If you're the type of reader who enjoys dystopias for the thrills in adventure, rather than extensive world building, you'd probably enjoy the story thoroughly. Otherwise, I'd suggest reading the first chapter or two before purchasing - the beginning of the book can really make or break your experience.

Giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway